The San Francisco Cable Car Museum is a must-see destination for anyone interested in the history of cable cars in San Francisco.
Located in the Nob Hill neighborhood at 1201 Mason Street, the museum is part of a complex that also includes the cable car power house and car depot.
Inside, visitors will find several preserved cable cars, including Sutter Street Railway’s grip car 46 and trailer 54 from the 1870s, and Clay Street Hill Railroad’s grip car 8, the only surviving car from the first cable car company. The museum also features smaller exhibits and a gift shop.
Established in 1974, the museum is run by the Friends of the Cable Car Museum, and is open from 10 AM to 6 PM between April 1 and September 30, and 10 AM to 5 PM between October 1 and March 31, with some exceptions for public holidays.
The main level of the museum is wheelchair accessible via a separate entrance.
If you’re interested in the history of San Francisco’s cable cars, or just want to see some unique and fascinating historical artifacts, the San Francisco Cable Car Museum is definitely worth a visit.
San Francisco Cable Car History
The cable cars in San Francisco are a pretty cool piece of history. Andrew Smith Hallidie came up with the idea in 1873, using technology similar to what was used in mines. It was a hit and ran for over 30 years, even surviving the big earthquake in 1906 and both World Wars. People tried to get rid of them in the late 40s and 50s, but they hung on and now they’re a symbol of the city that people from all over the world know and love.